sanne de jong she & ski

She can Ski Sunday – Sanne de Jong

In Lifestyleby sheandski

Sanne de Jong

BIO

  • Age: 33 years
    Three #hashtags that describe you: #outdoorwomen #girlsdoski #mountainlife
  • Where can we find you:
    Summer: Kleinwalsertal Austria and sometimes somewhere down at the beach for some surfing.
    Winter: Kleinwalsertal Austria.

1. Where does your passion for skiing come from?

Since an early age I went skiing with my parents. I was just lucky that at a certain point we went skiing twice a year! At a really young age I got introduced with off-piste skiing, so that’s where my passion actually started. After school I went two winter seasons to Austria working as a ski instructor and a snowboard instructor, and by then I just knew that this passion would always be in my life.

2. How is your summer vs. Winter?

Since 1,5 years I moved to Austria with my boyfriend. We were able to buy a hotel and turn it into a lodge. We live there the whole year round. Last winter I did a little bit less skiing then normal, due to the first season we had with the lodge and as I was pregnant. This year we have a better work/privat balance, and thus more time to ski!! My other job/company is Chicky Clinics, which means that i’m also a lot out there skiing. So I can combine work and pleasure perfectly!

3. What are your dreams for the next three years?

I would love to learn more about mountaineering. Climb high peaks and ski down. I still have a lot to learn about climbing and how to work with all the ropes, ice axe and crampons. But for me its an great adventure and an amazing goal to do that! Besides, I would love to ski the first slopes with my daughter Filippa. Still, I’m a mommy 😉

4. What should not be missing in your backpack when you go skiing for a day?

My airbag backpack, probe, shovel, water, sun-creme, sunglasses, and an extra goggle, skins and an energy bar, lip balm with a sun protector in it, first-aid kit and a beanie!

5. How do you stay fit during summer?

The last couple of years I started training in the gym for a few days a week in september. Lucky as I am, my gym now is just outside of the house, I like to mountainbike, trail running and hiking. From time to time I do some extra leg excersizes at home, but with a young baby in our life, it is not always that easy.

6. Chicky Clinics is your company! Why did you started it back then?

In 2009 I started Chicky Clinics. In that time I was a fanatic freestyle skier, and one of the few who did that in Holland. I wanted to motivate other girls in the scene to learn more about freestyle, and noticed that when you did this in groups that the girls motivated each other. So I started giving freestyle clinics in indoor ski slopes in Holland. Through the years it grew to even more outdoor sports like, skateboarding, wakerboarden, kite surfing, surfing, moutainbiking, motorcross and longboarden. Soon after that I started to organise trips, which I still do with a lot of passion. For now I’m focussing more on winter trips and especially on freeriding for all different levels, and in the summer on surfing. I just love it to go on the road with all these women and to share my passion and pass it on to them! The joy that comes out of these trips is just GOLD! I hope I can do this for a way longer time!